Friday, May 26, 2017


Here you find a list, as complete as possible, of all the CDs, digital albums, DVDs and Blu-ray regarding stage and movie musicals that that are being released in May, June and July 2017. The list is in alphabetical order.

AMÉLIE – Original Broadway Cast recording of the new musical based on the famous film. Muic by Daniel Messé and lyrics by Nathan Tysen. Featuring Phillipa Soo, Adam Chanler-Berat, David Andino, Randy Blair, Heath Calvert, Alison Cimmet, Savvy Crawford, Manoel Felciano, Harriett D. Foy, Alyse Alan Louis, Maria-Christina Oliveras, Paul Whitty and Tony Sheldon.

ANASTASIA – Original Broadway Cast recording of the stage adaptatiomn of the animated movie musical. Songs by Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens. Starring Christy Altomare, John Bolton, Ramin Karimloo, Derek Klena, Caroline O'Connor, Mary Beth Peil, Lauren Blackman and Kyle Brown. 

BANDSTAND – Original Broadway Cast recording starring Laura Osnes, Corey Cott, Beth Leavel, Alex Bender, Joe Carroll, Brandon James Ellis, James Nathan Hopkins and Geoff Packard. Music Richard Oberacker and lyrics by Rob Taylor & Richard Oberacker. 

BLONDEL – 1984 Original London Cast starring Paul Nicholas, Sharon Lee Hill, Stephan Tate, David Burt, Chris Langham and Cantabile. Music by Stephen Oliver and lyrics by Tim Rice. Available at StageDoorRecords.

BUBBLE BOY - Original Cast recording of the show created by Cinco Paul. Starring Alice Ripley, A. J. Holmes, Richard Kind, Caroline Bowman, Matt Doyle, Gerard Canonico, Kirsten Scott, Martin Sola, Nehal Joshi, Alex Chester and Anita Welch.

CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY – Original Broadway Cast recording starring Christian Borle, John Rubinstein, Emily Padgett, Kathy Fitzgerald, F. Michael Haynie, Ben Crawford, Emma Pfaeffle, Alan H. Green, Trista Dollison, Jackie Hoffman, Michael Wartella and Jake Ryan Flynn, Ryan Fous and Ryan Sell as Charlie. Original songs by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman, with additional songs by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley. 

To read my review click here.

COMRADE ROCKSTAR – Songs from the musical inspired by the life of Dean Reed. Music by Richard John and lyrics by Julian Woolford. Featuring Tim Howar, Kim Ismay, Caroline Sheen, Andy Conaghan, Lucy Schaufer, Yvette Robinson, OrlaGormley and Katy Secombe.

DREAMGIRLS – Original London Cast recording, recorded live at the Savoy Theatre. Starring Amber Riley, Liisi LaFontaine, Ibinabo Jack, Joe Aaron Reid, Adam J. Bernard, Tyrone Huntley, Nicholas Bailey and Lily Frazer. Music by Henry Krieger and lyrics by Tom Eyen.

To read my review click here.

GALAVANT: THE COMPLETE COLLECTION – Includes the Original Soundtrack of the TV series two seasons with music by Alan Menken and lyrics by Glenn Slater. Starring Joshua Sasse, Timothy Omundson, Vinnie Jones, Mallory Jansen, Karen David, Luke Youngblood. Featured singers on the album include Hugh Bonneville, Weird Al Yankovic, Ricky Gervais, Kylie Minogue, Matt Lucas, Robert Lindsay, Sheridan Smith, Reece Shearsmith, Eddie Marsan and Alfie Simmons. 

GAY CARD –Studio Cast recording of the Ryan Korell and Jonathan Keebler musical. Featuring Sean Doherty, Melissa Mitchell, Derek Klena, Alyssa LeClair, Wilson Bridges, Brad Greer, Max Sangerman, Madelin Fansler, Josh Greenblatt and Kimberly Chatterjee.

GOD BLESS YOU, MR. ROSEWATER – Encores! Off-Center Cast recording of the Alan Menken and Howard Ashman musical. Starring Skylar Astin, Santino Fontana, James Earl Jones, Rebecca Naomi Jones, Kate Wetherhead, Derrick Baskin, Jeff Blumenkrantz, Nick Choksi, Eddie Cooper, Kevin Del Aguila, Clark Johnson, Kevin Ligon, Marla Louissaint, Liz McCartney, Bonnie Milligan and Brynn O’Malley.

HELLO, DOLLY! – New Broadway Cast recording of Jerry Herman’s musical, starring Bette Midler, David Hyde Pierce, Gavin Creel, Kate Baldwin, Taylor Trensch, Beanie Feldstein, Will Burton, Melanie Moore, Jennifer Simard and Kevin Ligon.

To read my review click here.

HOLIDAY INN – Original Broadway Cast recording of the new Irving Berlin musical. Starring Bryce Pinkham, Danny Rutigliano, Megan Lawrence, Megan Sikora, Corbin Bleu and Lora Lee Gayer.

JUST ONE “Q” – Original Cast recording featuring T. Oliver Reid. Music by Ted Shen and lyrics by Elle Fitzhugh.

KISS ME, KATE – Blu-ray release of the 2002 London revival filmed in front of a live audience. Starring Brent Barrett, Rachel York, Michael Berresse, Nancy Anderson and Nicolas Colicos. Songs by Cole Porter.

THE LIGHTNING THIEF – Off-Broadway Cast recording of the Percy Jackson musical by Joe Tracz and Rob Rokicki. Featuring Chris McCarrell, Carrie Compere, Sarah Beth Pfeifer, Jonathan Raviv, James Hayden Rodriguez, George Salazar and Kristin Stokes. 

MAN IN THE MOON – Original Cast recording of the 1963 musical with music by Jerry Bock and lyrics by Sheldon Harnick. Featuring Bil and Cora Baird Marionettes, Franz Fazakas, Frank Sullivan, Gerald Freedman and singers Margery Gray, Rose Marie Jun and Eric Carlson. 

NATASHA, PIERRE & THE GREAT COMET OF 1812 – Original Broadway Cast recording of the Dave Malloy musical. Starring Denée Benton, Josh Groban, Brittain Ashford, Gelsey Bell, Nicholas Belton, Nick Choksi, Amber Gray, Grace McLean, Paul Pinto, Scott Stangland and Lucas Steele. 

NEWSIES – Digital release of the filmed stage production of Alan Menken and Jack Feldman’s musical, starring Jeremy Jordan, Kara Lindsay, Ben Fankhauser, Andrew Keenan-Bolger, Steve Blanchard, Katherine Plumber, Tommy Bracco and Aisha de Haas. The show won Tonys for Best Choreography (Christopher Gattelli) and Original Score.

THOSE REDHEADS FROM SEATTLE – Blu-ray release of the 1953 3-D movie musical starring Rhonda Fleming, Gene Barry, Agnes Moorehead, Teresa Brewer, Guy Mitchell, The Bell Sisters, Jean Parker and Roscoe Ates. Directed by Lewis R. Forster.

WAR PAINT – Original Broadway Cast recording starring Patti LuPone, Christine Ebersole, John Dossett and Douglas Sills. Music by Scott Frankel and lyrics by Michael Korie. 

To read my review click here.

THE WIND IN THE WILLOWS – Original London Cast recording, music by George Stiles and lyrics by Anthony Drewe. Featuring Rufus Hound, Simon Lipkin, Craig Mather, Neil McDermott, Denise Welch and Gary Wilmot. 

No comments:

Post a Comment